Video FA1834 – Goal: When made and its value

On this play, with less than four minutes to go until the end of the 3rd period and a score of 48:50, White-5 attempts a 3-point shot and the Center Official signals a 3-point attempt. The ball rebounds from the ring and two opponents, Blue-15 and White-7, jump for the ball. The ball goes in the basket and the Center Official, near the scorer’s table, signals that the 3-point shot is successful.

The next time a foul is called, the ball becomes dead and the time is stopped. The Coach of the White Team complains that the three points were not added to the score.

One of the Officials explains that the ball was tapped into the basket by Blue-15, who jumped for the rebound, and that two, not three points will be given to the White Team. The other Official just asks the coach to return back to the bench and goes to continue the game.

The decision of the officials regarding the score is correct. The moment the ball has been touched by Blue-15, the 3-point shot changed its status to two points.

The Officials need to permanently master their communication skills so that, when they decide to continue the game after any interruption, the team members do not look as they do not understand the decision.

Consider this:

FIBA Rules 2017 – Art. 16 Goal: When made and its value

16.2.1. A goal is credited to the team attacking the opponents’ basket into which the ball has entered as follows:
 A goal released from a free throw counts 1 point.
 A goal released from the 2-point field goal area counts 2 points.
 A goal released from the 3-point field goal area counts 3 points.
 After the ball has touched the ring on a last or only free throw and is legally touched by an offensive or defensive player before it enters the basket, the goal counts 2 points.
16.2.2. If a player accidentally scores a field goal in his team’s basket, the goal counts 2 points and shall be recorded as having been scored by the captain of the opposing team on the playing court.

FIBA Statisticians’ Manual 2016

When a field goal is the result of a defensive player accidentally scoring in his team’s own basket, the score will be charged to the court captain of the opposition team. The court captain, will be charged with both a FGA and a FGM. In case the own goal occurred during a rebound situation after a missed FGA of the offensive team, his team will be credited with an offensive team rebound.

Published by

FIBA Americas Officiating

FIBA Americas Officiating * Basketball Officiating * Referees - Table Officials - Commissioners - Instructors * FIBA Basketball Rules - Mechanics of Officiating